Six Important Steps to Take Immediately After Your Second DUI Arrest
A DUI conviction in California can result in a number of severe penalties including hefty fines and a mandatory jail sentence. If you are one of thousands of Californians who have a prior drinking conviction, the stakes can be even higher. A second DUI offense in California can result in much harsher punishment than a first offense under the state's mandatory sentencing guidelines. If you have been convicted of a DUI within a 10-year period, you will be classified as a "repeat DUI offender."
You can face several serious consequences if you are convicted of a second DUI offense including:
- Mandatory Jail time;
- Over $2,000 in fines and fees to the court;
- Mandatory court-ordered 18-month alcohol program;
- 5 years of probation – during that period of time if you violate any law (other than a traffic infraction) you can be sentenced to up to one year in county jail for a violation of your probation.
- Two-year driver’s license suspension;
- Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) on your vehicle;
- Cancellation or increase of your car insurance – this can result in an increase in your automobile insurance in excess of $10,000 over a seven year period, depending upon your insurance provider;
Important Steps to Take Immediately After Your Second DUI Arrest:
Here are six important steps to take immediately after your second DUI arrest:
- Contact an experienced lawyer. There are several challenging aspects to a second DUI arrest. The penalties you could face are more severe. It is important that you retain the services of an experienced DUI defense lawyer who will fight for your rights.
- Prepare a “statement of case” as soon as possible after the arrest to memorialize the events of the case. Criminal cases can take months to resolve and your memory of the events can be crucial.
- Schedule your DMV Hearing – after a DUI arrest, you have only 10 days to schedule a hearing with the California Department of Motor Vehicles. You or your lawyer must schedule an appropriate DMV hearing within 10 days of the arrest to challenge the suspension of your driver’s license. Failing to do so will lead to an automatic suspension of your driving privilege.
- Save the pink temporary license – when the officer took your California driver’s license, you were most likely given a pink temporary license. This pink temporary license serves as your temporary license (for 30 days) and must be on your person while driving.
- Fix any vehicle and/or equipment violations on your vehicle – the last thing you need is to be pulled over again by law enforcement. Take a look at the exterior of your vehicle to ensure everything is in compliance with the law and in proper working order. Check for: expired registration tags, broken tail lights or headlights, missing front license plate, excessive window tint
- Suspend all social networking activities and take down photos of you partying or drinking. Even if it had nothing to do with the incident or the arrest, your Facebook page or Twitter profile can adversely affect your case.
Why you need a lawyer
When facing a second DUI offense, you need a skilled defense lawyer to help mitigate the serious consequences you face if convicted. You want an experienced DUI attorney to help defend your rights and to help you get the best outcome possible. Call Peter Vlautin for a free consultation. 916-365-9734